New 3.2 development branch for MondoRescue

I’ve taken over the lead for MondoRescue in September 2005. It has been 8 years these days. And since the 3rd of October 2005, I started a new branch to try to fix the first bug report (I really mean the first !) that was made !!

It took me hours to work on this branch along the years. Many times I’ve left that dev, as it wasn’t working as I wanted. Too many modifications done without testing, then a non working stuff too difficult to debug. I even included a patch from a contributor René-Marc Dolhen to add i18n support, but due to the numerous changs of branches to work on this, it never materialized in an offical MondoRescue version.

So when René-Marc contacted me back 2 weeks ago to again propose to me to add this patch renewed, I decided it was time to make something !

I’ve thus created the 3.2 branch, passed lots of hours again during my recent travel in the US to port patches from the 3.1 branch to this new one and 3.2.0 will be next MondoRescue version. I’m now testing it. trunk, stable (!) and 3.1 branches are now dead. The one after will be named devel, but that’s not for now.

3.2 now compiles, build and even runs up to the archiving point. I’ll start testing restore soon. I’ll make beta versions available as usual and will really need your help as user/contributor to test it in the various cases that you have to make it as reliable as the one we have today in 3.0.

Even if I don’t intend to maintain 3.0 for a long time in parallel with 3.2, it may be done a bit to ease the transition.

BTW, do not expect many news in 3.2. It’s 3.0 with tons of dynamic memory allocation instead of static one where it was easy to do (and done previously). More will come later on. And hopefully with the i18n patch added if René-Marc has still the force to work with me after so many years of delay !!

Tags: , ,

13 Responses to “New 3.2 development branch for MondoRescue”

  1. jfucanada Says:

    Thank you for this great development!

  2. linboard Says:

    Excellent. Looking forward to seeing this in the debian and gentoo trees, but in the meantime, the 3.0 branch works as flawlessly as always.

  3. MondoRescue 3.2.0 stabilisation | Bruno Cornec's Blog Says:

    […] took me time for sure. I started to work on this precise branch in October 2013. At that point, I was already happy to have a compiling version as I’ve made lots of memory […]

  4. Johan Vermeire Says:

    Hi Bruno,

    Great work, keep it running!
    Do you have a public accessible source repository of the new 3.2 development branch for MondoRescue?

    Best Regards,
    Johan Vermeire
    Belgium

  5. Andrew Wasielewski Says:

    Hi Bruno,

    I checked out from SVN on Fedora 20 x86_64, goes fine until I get this error on “make install”:

    [root@dhcppc3 mr]# make install
    Installing /usr/share/man/man1/mranalyze-lvm.1
    Appending installation info to /usr/lib64/perl5/perllocal.pod
    PBPKG PBVER-rPBREV will be installed under
    install -m 755 -d /usr/local/etc/PBPROJ /usr/local/var/cache/PBPROJ /usr/local/share/PBPROJ
    cp etc/PBPROJ.conf /usr/local/etc/PBPROJ/PBPROJ.conf.dist ; install -m 755 -d /usr/local/share/man/man5 ; pod2man etc/PBPROJ.conf > /usr/local/share/man/man5/PBPROJ.conf.5
    pod2man: unable to format etc/PBPROJ.conf
    make: *** [install] Error 1

    I’m trying this as I am afflicted with the kernel panic issue affecting Fedora since FC17 (http://trac.mondorescue.org/ticket/656).

    Thanks for any advice,
    Andrew

  6. Andrew Wasielewski Says:

    Hi Bruno,

    Thanks for the swift response! I will be happy to test a FC20 x86_64 package as soon as it is out. Grateful also for any guidance on what I should put in ADDITIONAL_BOOT_PARAMS for acpi mode.

    Regards,
    Andrew

  7. brunocornec Says:

    You can now use:
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/test/fedora/20/x86_64/mindi-3.0.020141003005407-0.fc20.x86_64.rpm
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/test/fedora/20/x86_64/mindi-busybox-1.21.120140703124333-0.fc20.x86_64.rpm
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/test/fedora/20/x86_64/mondo-3.2.020141003005407-0.fc20.x86_64.rpm

    wrt ADDITIONAL_BOOT_PARAMS it should be very similar to what you use to boot your distro CD itself. But generally what is provided works.

  8. Andrew Wasielewski Says:

    Hi Bruno,

    I have added mondorescue-test to /etc/yum.repos.d and yum installed those latest versions. Mondoarchive runs OK and no more kernel panic on booting from the archive DVD. This is with default settings in /etc/mindi/mindi.conf apart from setting EXTRA_SPACE and BOOT_SIZE to 200000 to avoid running out of VM. (What are the units for those – KB?)

    My kernel is 3.16.3-200.fc20.x86_64. Fedora 20 is installed on 2 x 64GB SSD. /boot is on Linux md RAID 1, everything else is in LVM on another Linux md RAID 1 and Grub 2 is installed on both devices.

    DVD verification at the end of Mondoarchive passes OK but on booting in “compare” mode Mondo finds numerous differences. It’s unable to mount some volumes and the mount list shows wrong / zero size for many volumes.

    I can do same for another otherwise similar Fedora 20 install but on a single disk (i.e. root VG in LVM still but no RAID). I can test as much as you can dish up, but what is best way for feedback – comments here, email or bugreps in Trac?

    Regards,
    Andrew

  9. Andrew Wasielewski Says:

    Hi Bruno,

    Update… Mondoarchive worked fine as expected on the non-RAID Fedora 20 installation as well. Everything mounted OK and “compare” found 1 file (/root/.bash_history) that was different. The mount list still shows zero size for the LVM volumes but can mount them OK. So looks like it is the Linux md RAID that is causing the problem?

    FYI this system hadn’t had Mondoarchive installed previously, and I had to install Project Builder from your Fedora 19 repo to get Mondo 3.2.0 from the test repo to install, due to Perl module dependencies.

    Regards,
    Andrew

  10. Mike Roark Says:

    Been over a year since any update. I’m guessing the program is dead.

    • brunocornec Says:

      No it’s not. Look at the SVN tree to see what happens: http://trac.mondorescue.org/browser/branches/3.2
      Of course with only one major active contributor who has a real job, a family, musical activities and other projects such as http://trac.project-builder.org/browser/devel, MondoRescue gets only a share of my time. The recent tests made by people on the mailling list however have been more successful, and while there are still issues, the major ones seems to be behind us.
      If you have a distro of choice, let me know so I can build a version for you to test. The more positive feedback I get the more enclined I’m to release it officially as 3.2.0

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

