A great KernelRecipes 2015 last week

KernelRecipes is not like other Open Source Events.

First it’s friendly. I’ve been invited to talk about the interactions between a hardware manufacturer such as HP and the Linux community. And honestly, not being a kernel developer, I think I was more invited because of my firendly relationships with the organizers of the event, rather than for my relevance to the event. Hopefully, I’ve been able to bring some appropriate info anyway.

Then it’s remaining a small event, gathering around 100 people, all very committed to Linux kerel development. Small but highly focussed. To be honest, again as I’m not a kernel developer, I had a hard time following most of the conferences once they started digging into some aspects of the kernel.

And it’s great because of the high quality of the speakers present on stage (myself excluded). Look at the schedule, and realize that it was near a Kernel Summit as it can be without being one ! And I only attended day 2 and 3.

We had first David Woodhouse from Intel on Device Tree and ACPI. Typical session where I understand only parts of the talk, not being involved in embedded world. For the dummies on this topic like me, I’d recommend Thomas Petazzoni’s presentation as a starting point.

DSC_6818

He was followed by the star of the event Greg Kroah Hartman, fellow at the Linux Foundation and who is after Linus the one devoting the most to the kernel especially on stable branches. And as for every great speaker, you can give them whatever topic to cover, they make it interesting. Even more when they have chosen it, and didn’t make that talk since a couple of years. It was brilliant. With live publication of two RCs and an official stable kernel release named … “Kernel Recipes” of course🙂 That talk was really inspiring and lively as you can see:

DSC_6820

And Greg was talking, as well as all other speakers in a very nice room (Lended by the Mozilla Foundation) completely full ! And I think most people were like me impressed by the level of git+mutt mastery Greg showed, as well as the automation he developed to help him. I couldn’t have thought it was so “easy” to publish 3 different branches of the kernel while explaining everything in parallel in a 50 minutes talk !!!

DSC_6821

William Dauchy from the french registrar Gandi was then on stage to explain their network usage (large layer 2 LAN spread across DCs with TRILL).

DSC_6839

In the afternoon, we had a talk from Eric Leblond on packet filtering and the Suricata IDS. Pretty clear again and a deep knowledge on this topic.

DSC_6840

And then François Romieu explained his practice around Ethernet drivers development. I must confess I had difficulties following that talk, which I fuond less well architectured with probably too much digressions, while being very comitted.

DSC_6846

An auction was then organized in order to support La Quadrature du Net in their activities. It was an excellent idea IMO, and was lead y Erwan Velu who suceeded to generate great interest from the audience. I didn’t won an auction, but I’m anyway a sponsor of La Quadrature.

DSC_6862

I had time to pass the evening with my older daughter (and we enjoyed a great concert at the Philharmonie de Paris with a fabulous Stabat Mater of Rossini, the choirs lead by Lionel Sow in particular)

onp

The 2nd of October, the organizers had as many key kernel contributors as I described for the second day !
We started with Jan Kara to explain IOs, followed by another kernel major actor, Jens Axboe, working now for FaceBook and who was extremely didactic in his way to explain storage scalability aspects. Again an excellent talk to recommend.

DSC_6872

Mike Turquette was then on stage for explaining driver framework followed by an active contributor to the event by his questions and feedback, Willy Tarreau, who again made an excellent presentation on stable kernels, maintenance of these and which one to choose to build products, such as what he does in his company around HA Proxy.

DSC_6880

I had to leave before the end of that day, but I was impressed by the quality of the event, the level of the speakers, the ability to gather so many big names in the same place, and also the active participation of the audience, and the fact that speakers stay in the room to listen to other talks and contribute back. That’s how events are the most efficient IMO.

DSC_6886

So very honored to have been invited, many thanks to the organizers (especially Anne and Erwan) and I hope next time HP will accept to sponsor this very valuable event for the Linux kernel community.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

