Fosdem is here again !

In addition to next week event participation for HPE in Cannes, I’ll be at Fosdem the coming week-end in Brussels. And I’m so happy to be able to be there again, as it has been since 2012 that i’ve not participated.

This time, it’s not MondoRescue or Project-Builder.org related. But the presentation that was selected is part of the Distributions dev room. The title is “Building Linux distribution packages with Docker”. I’ve been using Docker to help in building packages since a long time now, and Project-Builder.org latest version is now supporting it pretty well to help me package my upstream projects. But I want to cover a different aspect.

Docker has brought an ease of use without comparison with VMs typically to build native upstream distribution packages. Where before it was needed to
launch a complete environment, copy the sources into it, invoke the build tools to create the packages and then copy them back to the host, Docker has made all these steps much easier and straight forward, allowing for more rapid package production and automation.

This presentation will show a detailed use case for building packages for both Mageia and Fedora with their respective bm or koji tools encapsulated in Docker containers. It should help any upstream packager adopt a similar approach to make his packaging task a breathe.

Will be there Saturday the 30th of January (my 20′ talk is at 11:30 in K.4.201) and I’ll stay till Sunday early afternoon. Feel free again to catch me and discuss. When not in my talk, I’ll be in other sessions and also around the Mageia Booth.

And come in mass as this is one of the best FLOSS event WW. Really !

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

