MondoRescue 3.2.2 is finally available

I don’t know you, but I was waiting for this version for a long time. Way too long ! But I’m lucky, I’m not time based for releases. I’m really much more features based. And the one I really needed to catch for this version was UEFI support for RHEL/CentOS 6 & 7. HPE has teams and customers which were really needing that to work correctly, which is, from my series of tests, now the case. And I had confirmation from my colleagues that it was indeed working for them as expected just recently. So it was then time to publish !

While I was at it, I tried to fix at the same time some other annoying issues that were reported by the community on the mailing list, while leaving some other problems for the next time, as it was already too much delayed. So I know the Debian and Ubuntu users won’t get UEFI support working, as I had not enough time to test it (my test infra is now being used for trainings for 2 weeks), similarly for SLES 11 SP4 with UEFI (which uses elilo, while I now support grub, grub2 and syslinux, but this one doesn’t work correctly with UEFI IMO).

In addition to what was already done and reported here previously, I have hopefully fixed the following additional issues:

  • #777: Full UEFI support with grub 0.9 and grub2 configuration generation in addition to syslinux (limited to RHEL6, RHEL7)
  • #778 use dosfslabel/mr-label to recreate labelled FAT or VFAT FS
  • #757, #780 and #781 to fix md support
  • #792 to fix LVM support, by forcing fixed values for LE if percentage calculated for it is 0
  • #787 to fix USB support by cleaning the target dir of its syslinux content

In total 24 bugs have been officially closed and additional features improved or fixed as well. Look at the details in trac for the complete list of changes during these last 8 months of pregnancy of the new version 🙂

But, of course, things do not stop here. In addition to fixes which needs to be done as mentioned upper, I’d like to add support for Secure Boot e.g. in the next version to have a full UEFI support, and work again on code refactoring even more.

For now, let’s take time to celebrate and hopefully this will be for you as users the best version possible of MondoRescue available to date !

Tags: , , ,

54 Responses to “MondoRescue 3.2.2 is finally available”

  1. Simon Says:

    Hi Bruno, firstly many thanks for resolving the md array restoration issue.

    More of an FYI, while I was testing both the beta and final versions of v3.2.2 from the CentOS 7 repo’s, yum reported mindi-busybox RPM as missing.

    I ended up using the RHEL7 repo on CentOS 7 instead.

    Cheers

  2. brunocornec Says:

    Thanks for your report. I’ve now update the centos 7 repo with a mindi-busybox package as well.

  3. Mathieu Says:

    Hi Bruno,
    I try to backup/restore a HP G9 server with UEFI and redHat 6.6.
    After restore, it is impossible to mount “/” partition, it seems we have bad UUID for both “/” ( dev/sda8) et /boot/EFI ( dev/sda2) partitions.
    Can you help to investigate?
    Regards,

  4. munyagu Says:

    Hi.
    I have try to install MondoRescue to CentOS7.

    # wget http://www.mondorescue.org/ftp/centos/7/x86_64/mondorescue.repo
    # yum install mondo

    then, i got errors of the following.

    afio-2.5-1.rhel5.x86_64.rpm FAILED
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//centos/7/x86_64/afio-2.5-1.rhel5.x86_64.rpm: [Errno 14] FTP Error 550 – Given file does not exist
    Trying other mirror.
    buffer-1.19-4.rhel5.x86_64.rpm FAILED
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//centos/7/x86_64/buffer-1.19-4.rhel5.x86_64.rpm: [Errno 14] FTP Error 550 – Given file does not exist
    Trying other mirror.
    mindi-3.0.2-1.rhel5.x86_64.rpm FAILED
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//centos/7/x86_64/mindi-3.0.2-1.rhel5.x86_64.rpm: [Errno 14] FTP Error 550 – Given file does not exist
    Trying other mirror.

    mindi-busybox-1.21.1-1.rhel5.x FAILED
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//centos/7/x86_64/mindi-busybox-1.21.1-1.rhel5.x86_64.rpm: [Errno 14] FTP Error 550 – Given file does not exist
    Trying other mirror.

    mondo-3.2.2-1.rhel5.x86_64.rpm FAILED
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//centos/7/x86_64/mondo-3.2.2-1.rhel5.x86_64.rpm: [Errno 14] FTP Error 550 – Given file does not exist
    Trying other mirror.

    perl-IO-Interface-1.04-1.el5.r FAILED
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//centos/7/x86_64/perl-IO-Interface-1.04-1.el5.rf.x86_64.rpm: [Errno 14] FTP Error 550 – Given file does not exist
    Trying other mirror.
    perl-MondoRescue-3.2.2-1.rhel5 FAILED
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//centos/7/x86_64/perl-MondoRescue-3.2.2-1.rhel5.noarch.rpm: [Errno 14] FTP Error 550 – Given file does not exist
    Trying other mirror.
    perl-ProjectBuilder-0.13.2-1.r FAILED
    ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//centos/7/x86_64/perl-ProjectBuilder-0.13.2-1.rhel5.noarch.rpm: [Errno 14] FTP Error 550 – Given file does not exist
    Trying other mirror.

    Please help me to install them.

  5. brunocornec Says:

    Your yum commands tries to install RHEL 5 type of packages. Don’t you have multiple .repo files conflicting in your /etc/yum.repos.d directory ?

  6. VJ Taylan Says:

    Can’t install on Ubuntu 16.04, apt-get update gives out error:

    W: The repository ‘ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//ubuntu 16.04 Release’ is not signed.
    N: Data from such a repository can’t be authenticated and is therefore potentially dangerous to use.
    N: See apt-secure(8) manpage for repository creation and user configuration details.

    any solution? thanks

    • brunocornec Says:

      For the moment you need to force the installation of the packages. I’m working on an improvement for project-builder.org that should solev it for the next version. Stay tuned.

  7. James Says:

    Hello Bruno,

    I a gentooer and I’m willing to help on Mondo, any capacity you need. I run non-systemd systems from old i686 through multicore
    amd64. I’d like to use mondorescue to install gentoo, or at least
    semi automate the disk formatting tasks.

    I did see this:: MondoRescue-3.2.2-r1.ebuild

    at:: ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/gentoo/nover/

    I was thinking there’d be an iso for install work?

    Let know what docs I missed reading and how I can help so
    mondorescue once again bececomes a gentoo simple install system (openrc). All I need is a /, and /usr/local partitions,
    so one disk format can be used for both MBR(bios) systems and efi systems.

    James

    • brunocornec Says:

      MondoRescue works live on your system. So use the ebuild to build your own version (with all the deps) and look at the man page and HOWTO to see usage examples.

  8. jfucanada Says:

    I tried to setup mondo on RHEL 7. But it failed at the moment of creating the mindi image. Is anything I am missing?

    Jeff

    [root@zvmlinux7 log]# tail -f mindi.log
    …because /sbin/devfsd not found
    cp: error writing \u2018/mondo/mondo.tmp.Lijenr/mountpoint.1577/tmp/mountlist.txt\u2019: No space left on device
    cp: failed to extend \u2018/mondo/mondo.tmp.Lijenr/mountpoint.1577/tmp/mountlist.txt\u2019: No space left on device
    FATAL ERROR. Cannot copy mountlist to ramdisk
    Please e-mail a copy of /var/log/mindi.log to the mailing list.
    See http://www.mondorescue.org for more information.
    WE CANNOT HELP unless you enclose that file.

    INFO: Mindi 3.0.2-r3578 is exiting
    INFO: End date : Thu Nov 10 23:43:15 PST 2016

    ^C

    • brunocornec Says:

      Try to increase EXTRA_SPACE in /etc/mindi/mindi.conf

      • jfucanada Says:

        thank you so much your help.

        I can create ISO image backup now. When I try mondo rescue, it complains about that it doesn’t support xfs format. But I pretty sure the xfs format can be supported by our current kernel. (RHEL 7.3 – 3.10.0-514.el7.x86_64)

      • jfucanada Says:

        I got that errors when I try to do nuke recovery. It doesn’t support xfs…

    • brunocornec Says:

      Your xfs error is probably due to the fact you use a pretty old version (3.0.2) where the latest one is 3.2.2.
      Also check that the xfs module is available, backed up in the boot media by mindi and available at restore time. The best is to post on the ML with your logs.

      • jfucanada Says:

        Thank you for responding me so quickly.
        Actually I am using mondo 3.2.2 with mindi 3.0.2. They are all latest version I can find. Did I miss anything?

      • jfucanada Says:

        [root@zvmlinux7 log]# yum install mondo mindi
        Loaded plugins: langpacks, product-id, rhnplugin, search-disabled-repos, subscription-manager
        This system is receiving updates from RHN Classic or Red Hat Satellite.
        Package mondo-3.2.2-1.rhel7.x86_64 already installed and latest version
        Package mindi-3.0.2-1.rhel7.x86_64 already installed and latest version
        Nothing to do
        [root@zvmlinux7 log]#

      • brunocornec Says:

        Indeed you have the latest versions.
        I’d need your /var/log/monorestore.log file to see whether the xfs.ko driver is correctly loaded. Please post on the Mailing list attaching also your /var/mondoarchive.log so we can help you.

  9. JP Says:

    First I installed this repo for Centos 6:

    wget ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/rhel/6/x86_64/mondorescue.repo

    Then when I tried to install on Centos6 and I am received these Errors:

    Error: Package: afio-2.5-1.rhel7.x86_64 (mondorescue)
    Requires: libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.14)(64bit)
    Error: Package: perl-IO-Interface-1.05-2.el7.x86_64 (mondorescue)
    Requires: perl(:MODULE_COMPAT_5.16.3)
    Error: Package: perl-Module-ScanDeps-1.10-3.el7.noarch (mondorescue)
    Requires: perl(:MODULE_COMPAT_5.16.3)
    Error: Package: perl-Net-IPv4Addr-0.10-6.el7.noarch (mondorescue)
    Requires: perl(:MODULE_COMPAT_5.16.3)
    Error: Package: mondo-3.2.2-1.rhel7.x86_64 (mondorescue)
    Requires: libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.14)(64bit)

    —-

    It looks like it needs RHEL 7 not RHEL 6 for the Cento 6 Install

    I am confused as to what I am missing

    • brunocornec Says:

      Don’t you have multiple .repo files under /etc/yum.repo.d that could explain this behavior ? The repo file for rhel6 indeed point only to rleh6 content I just checked.

      • JP Says:

        That was an interesting thing to check

        As it turns out the repo I received when I thought I performed wget ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/rhel/6/x86_64/mondorescue.repo

        was actually for RHEL 7:

        baseurl=ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org//rhel/7/x86_64

        I removed the mondo repo files and then installed them again from the site

        my other repos point to RHEL 6.

        I still received the errors so I performed yum clean all and tried it again with success!

        Thanx so much for your time!

      • brunocornec Says:

        Glad to have found the right problem 😉

      • JP Says:

        I tried to post this to the development mailing list but it was rejected with no reason given – I am trying this list to see if I can get this resolved:

        I created a boot USB and copied the Mondo ISO files to it using a modified version of this procedure:

        http://trac.mondorescue.org/wiki/FAQ#Q42HowtotransformamondoCDDVDintoamondoUSBdevice

        I rebooted the PC and issued command – compare usb=/dev/sdc

        The program booted up to the “I am thinking” prompt then said it couldn’t find the archives do you want to pick another location?

        I said yes and selected harddrive and then it asked me for the ISO prepend name which didn’t make any sense.

        I checked the path on /dev/sdc1 and found the archive directory and the files

        Any words of wisdom as I am going an endless loop and I am sure it is a simple fix :-~

      • brunocornec Says:

        Don’t take a hardrive, take a USB device instead

  10. Brian Says:

    running linux mint 18.6 (sarah) cinnamon. Ran this :
    wget ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/ubuntu/`lsb_release -r|awk ‘{print $2}’`/mondorescue.sources.list
    # sh -c “cat mondorescue.sources.list >> /etc/apt/sources.list”
    # apt-get update
    # apt-get install mondo
    I ran it as root…
    ==> SYST … done. ==> PWD … done.
    ==> TYPE I … done. ==> CWD (1) /ubuntu/18 …
    No such directory ‘ubuntu/18’.

    I am seriously out of my depth
    Can you point me in the correct direction?

    Brian

  11. JP Says:

    Ran it today after excluding some large files that were transient that were going to take 28 hours to run 🙂

    I would like to rerun this backup as a cron job.

    i did not seem to see the command line options in the log file that were used in the gui in the log file

    Is there some way to get the command line options used by the gui after a backup has been executed?

  12. JP Says:

    manually made up the command and inserted into cron but it doesn’t run

    here is the script


    #!/bin/bash
    # Set the backup filename and directory
    echo “Starting: ” `date`
    # ensure fileserver1 directory is mounted.
    mount -a

    DATE=`date +%Y%m%d` # e.g 20130721
    SERVER=”Tools-Server”
    FILENAME=$SERVER”_”$DATE”.iso”;
    BACKUPDIR=”/mnt/backups/mondo-tools-server/”;
    EXCLUDEFILES=”‘|/var/log|/opt/splunk/var/lib/splunk/defaultdb/db|/mnt|'”

    mondoarchive -O -i -p $FILENAME -s 4480m -d $BACKUPDIR -I / -E “$EXCLUDEFILES” -T /tmp -9

    # Delete old database backups older than 60 days
    # Keep all Monday Backup files
    find $BACKUPDIR/$SERVER*.iso -type f -mtime +7 \
    -exec sh -c ‘test $(date +%a -r “$1”) = Mon || echo rm “$1″‘ — {} \;

    echo “Done: ” `date`

    This is my root cron entry:

    0 4 * * * /root/scripts/mondoarchive.sh >> /var/log/mondoarchive-cron.log 2>> /var/log/mondoarchive-cron.err

    This is my cron log for when it ran:

    Dec 21 04:00:01 tools CROND[23907]: (root) CMD (/root/scripts/mondoarchive.sh >> /var/log/mondoarchive-cron.log 2>> /var/log/mondoarchive-cron.err)

    In my own log file all I see is start and stop about 2 mins apart

    Ideas?

    Thanx

  13. JP Says:

    Found error – needed to put full path to mondoarchive in my cron script

  14. Simon Says:

    Hi Bruno, is there a reason why the Ubuntu 16.04 repo’s are missing the mindi-busybox_*.deb package?

    I was having issues installing mondo and suspect this is the causing an issue.

    Cheers

    • brunocornec Says:

      Yesthe current version of mindi-busybox 1.21 doesn’t compile on recent distros due to a glibc change. I’m working on adding busybox 1.25 which can compile (when patched appropriately) for both newer and older distributions.

      I’ll publish a test version of MondoRescue 3.3.0 using it this week-end so you can test next week. THat will be my Christmas gift 😉

      • James Says:

        How about a version for gentoo:: include openrc instead of systemd
        as I’m sure that will be very popular?

        I can help, if you like?

        James

      • brunocornec Says:

        Sure, I love to get help 😉
        There is already a gentoo directory on the ftp server, and I try to maintain it up to date. However, I’m not familiar with openrc so would definitively need your help to be sure everything works as expected.
        Let me know what needs to be done wrt the ebuild files.

      • James Says:

        The MondoRescue-3.2.2-r1.ebuild 27-Apr-2016
        requires the projecbuilder ebuild::
        ProjectBuilder-0.14.1-r1.ebuild and look reasonable.

        Perhaps some basic instructions to use these to install gentoo?

        gentoo/nover/mindi-3.0.2-r1.ebuild looks very old.
        Are there any instructions to install gentoo via mondorescue?

        If so, I’ll start by testing that installation process.

        This migth help::
        https://devmanual.gentoo.org/

        James

      • brunocornec Says:

        If you have comment for gentoo installation we could put them here:
        http://trac.project-builder.org/wiki/Documentation#ebuildbaseddistributions

        I don’t have instructions myself, as I’m not a gentoo user.

      • Simon Says:

        Many thanks Bruno, Merry Christmas 🙂

  15. GLENN W BETZ Says:

    We’re having an issue with 3.2.2 on Centos 7. Attempting to backup a server with 4.5GB of data to a 16GB thumb drive using:

    mondoarchive -OVU /dev/sdb -s 15g

    We’ve used this command with previous versions of mondoarchive on Centos 6 successfully. On Centos 7 the same command is filling up the 183GB ‘/’ filesystem before erroring out. Looking at mondoarchive.log shows that it is running afio to process filelist.51 (containing files from /usr/bin).

    Any ideas on what we could try would be very appreciated.

    • brunocornec Says:

      Re-try using the -R option, you may have large sparse files creating that issue. or send the log files to our devel ML.

      • GLENN Says:

        Thank you very much for your timely assistance. Switching to star instead of afio worked.

  16. Bert Says:

    Hi,

    I have installed Mint 18.1 Cinnamon on my Lenovo Y500.
    This is the first time I’m working with Mint, coming from Windows.

    I want to create images from my SSD/HDD and after searching, I found MondoRescue however, I have no idea to install this new version.
    I found http://www.tecmint.com/how-to-clone-linux-systems/ and tried to “To install Mondo Rescue in Ubuntu 12.10, 12.04, 11.10, 11.04, 10.10 and 10.04 or Linux Mint 13,” but, I have Mint 18.1 anyway, I tried.

    It’s already going wrong when I do:
    “sudo wget ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/ubuntu/`lsb_release -r|awk ‘{print $2}’`/mondorescue.sources.list”

    Getting:
    –2017-02-10 21:33:51– ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/ubuntu/18.1/mondorescue.sources.list
    => ‘mondorescue.sources.list’
    Resolving http://ftp.mondorescue.org (ftp.mondorescue.org)… 213.30.161.23
    Connecting to http://ftp.mondorescue.org (ftp.mondorescue.org)|213.30.161.23|:21… connected.
    Logging in as anonymous … Logged in!
    ==> SYST … done. ==> PWD … done.
    ==> TYPE I … done. ==> CWD (1) /ubuntu/18.1 …
    No such directory ‘ubuntu/18.1’.

    Who can help me to get the newest version of Mondo Rescue installed on Mint 18.1 ?
    What are the steps to get it done ?

    Any help is appreciated.

    Greetings,
    Bert
    (Netherlands)

    • brunocornec Says:

      Please read the answer I brought to Brian earlier. In short don’t use lsb_release in your case. Use the corresponding ubuntu/debian version for your Mint.

  17. Bert Says:

    EDIT command: “wget ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/ubuntu/`lsb_release -r|awk ‘{print $2}’`/mondorescue.sources.list”
    So, without sudo.

    Bert

  18. Bert Says:

    Hi Bruno,

    Finaly, I was able to install, using the following steps:

    wget ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/test/ubuntu/16.04/mondorescue-test.sources.list

    sudo sh -c “cat mondorescue-test.sources.list >> /etc/apt/sources.list”

    sudo apt-get update

    sudo apt-get install mondo

    Then I started Mondo Rescue and got the Menu 🙂
    Now testing……

    So, instead of mondorescue.sources.list, I used mondorescue-test.sources.list.

    Thanks for your feedback.

    Bert.

  19. kapali Says:

    Hey, it seems your FTP server is down…not able to fetch mondorescue.repo from : wget ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/rhel/6/x86_64/mondorescue.repo

  20. bob jenkin Says:

    trying to install on centos 7 and all I get is time out from mirror when doing yum install mondo

    • brunocornec Says:

      Could you give more details please ? Which protocol are you using, which mirror are you using ? If you can copy your mondorescue.repo file that would help diagnose.

  21. PeteD Says:

    your mondorescue.org web site has been down for days.
    all that happen is a timeout after 30+ seconds.
    I have no website at this time.

  22. brunocornec Says:

    Thanks for your ping, I have restarted it manually. There is a weekly process for that, but I may need to move it to a daily one it seems 😦

  23. Nouvelles de la semaine | Bruno Cornec's Blog Says:

    […] de coder autour de tellico en ce moment (plus dans un prochain article), avant de retourner à mes projets libres principaux, puis mes activités pour HPE qui m’a soutenu sans faillir durant cette […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.